Since beginning this blog last year, I have been so overwhelmed by and so grateful for the kind words I have received from folks who have read it. I’ve also realized that I don’t have much in my “About” section here (I am terrible at writing introductions and abouts so a revision has been on my “To Do Someday” list for quite a while.) So, just a bit about me: I’ve been pagan for 20+ years, I am a rock-hard polytheist, I consider myself multi-faith but not eclectic, and I am located in the Great Lakes region of the US.

Many of the gods I write for here are gods of place and of tribe. I am not of their places; to my knowledge, I am not of their tribes. Some of you are, most are not. Despite this I think we can still connect with them, but I think it needs to be recognized that these were not universal deities. That isn’t to say that, given time and uninterrupted development, their worship might not have spread far and wide; it isn’t to say that they don’t want any attention outside of their region. What it does mean is that place and tribe are a part of their identity, and separating them from that is going to be at best not very useful and at worst not very advisable.

Regardless, the gods are important. Their names are important. It is important to remember them.

It would be lovely, I think, to take a grand tour of Gaul and Britain, to visit the sites where the old gods were worshipped, to say their names out loud and make offerings. To remember them there. That isn’t going to happen, as I lack both the wealth and the health to make such a journey. 🙂  And as I travel rather poorly, that may be for the best.
 
The gods do not need us; they exist without any help from humanity. But I think they like us, and I think we can give to them, and I know they give to us.

